Challenge Day 5

Today’s challenge is to post a picture of myself from 2 years ago.

Two years ago from today I was in my senior year of high school.

image

This is one of my favorite photos.
I worked at a camp and they had a high tops corse. Part of my job meant I needed to climb 40 feet up and help people across.

However I’m terrified of hights. It took me 2 tries to go half way up but 3 just to step on the top board. On the 4th try I started the corse. Unfortunately I panicked half way across the first obstacle. Another employee (the guy teaching us) had to come “rescue” me.
After that I just kept trying. Good (maybe bad) thing for me was the guy who taught us wouldn’t rescue me after that. He told me I had to face my fear.

That is exactly what I did! We’ll mostly. I still get very afraid and I don’t always have the time to do it a bunch of times and face my fears. But it does make hights easier.

By the end of our first training week I even let a friend practice an emergency rescue. He had to lower me 40 ft to the ground. The only thing keeping me safe was the strength of him lowering with a rope over the top bar. It was terrifying.

This picture reminds me I can do anything with a little faith and courage.

Talk doon,
Marena

Leave a Reply

