Roll Call

I’m a fiancé to someone in the military. Navy to be precise.

As I was scrolling through Facebook a saw a post and the first words in all capital letters said ROLL CALL. I follow a few Facebook pages for military support. I think that’s normal for most spouses right?

Anyways back to the post. It said roll call. Then as I read they wanted you to share who you are who your significant is their rank and title where your located how old you two are and how long you’ve been together. To me that felt like a lot of personal stuff to air. I’m not saying charing that he’s and IT and what rank he’s in is bad or breaks opsec. However I feel like that’s their way of know how much my fiancé makes and to see if their significant other is better than mine. And to see if our relationship is better or worse than theirs by seeing if we’ve been together longer than them or not.
Is that just a me thought?

I did admin on a military page and I did host roll calls. However mine consistent of who we are (names) if we have children (including animals) what branch their in and sometimes where they/we are located. I’m sometimes skeptical on if you should share locations. But obviously if your following opsec you should be fine.
Like me saying I’m in Lansing, Michigan and my fiancé is in San Diego, California. That isn’t bad. I’m not sharing the exact living location. I’m also not saying yeah my fiancé is in the middle of this ocean roughly this area. Or that him and his ship or on the way to this place.  So as long as everyone follows opsec and you’re being cautious everything should be fine. The biggest reason I’m skeptical is because their are many people who don’t know opsec safety rules or just disregard them.

I wish I found a roll call where everyone was safe with what they said and it wasn’t to show who’s better than the other.  So I’m going to do my own roll call. I want everyone included even if you’re not in the military.

Who are you
How old are you
Are you with someone
What’s their name
What us your job tittle/what us your goal job (Be proud of who you are!)

Marena
I’m 20
My fiancé is Thomas
I’m a student but I hope one day I can be an amazing mother. (Mother is my goal job.)

Talk soon,
Marena

*Side rant. I hate when people want to know what rank your s/o is. (I know I said this.) I hate when they then proceed to act as if they are higher than you because their s/o is a higher rank. I mean what did you do to earn that title. Sure you might know more than me if you’ve been with them as they’ve been in the military longer than me or my fiancé but that does not mean you can act as if you are higher than me because your s/o has a higher rank than mine. We are not military. They are. Ranks don’t play a part in our civilian life. However if you’ve been living military life longer than me I will always let you help and teach me so I can grow. That’s out of respect for your knowledge base not your s/o rank.

Leave a Reply

