Rollerblading Death

Okay I didn’t die but have you ever felt that panic moment as you’re falling? Even if it’s 3 feet?

Well if not then you’re awesome! But it can be scary. That or I’m a baby, let’s not try to figure that out.

Here are 2 funny stories that have recently happened while rollerblading with my dad.

1st story:
Last October 2014 it was a great day to be outside. My dad invited me to go for a walk. Often times I say no just out of laziness. That day I was feeling great and wanting out of the house so I said yes. As we walked out of the garage I saw our blades so I asked if we could go rollerblading. I was surprised when my dad said yes.

I don’t officially own rollerblades. I just have a crapy pair someone left at my house who knows when. When I say crapy I mean the wheels don’t move. So my dad loosened them up the best he could. They rolled but I had to put a lot of effort in. I was still willing to go rollerblading I put to much effort in to fix these dang blades not to try.

About .25 miles from home I was exhausted. So my dad decided to try something different. (Just in case he brought his loosening tool incase it needed adjusted.) His idea was to pull the back blade. The one that wouldn’t roll. Turns out that was a VERY bad idea. I fell hard almost immediately.

When I say fell I mean I really fell. I slammed down on my knees, elbow, hand, and shoulder. I was bleeding and swollen. I cried like 20 year old not an almost 20 year old. (I turned 20 less that 3 months later.) My dad felt awful. But honestly we didn’t know what would happen. So my dad put my wheel back on he picked me up and hugged me. Then we started heading home. About half way home my dad convinced me to turn around and keep going. He wanted to end our journey on a high note.

And I did. I rode down 2 big hills and ended going 2 miles. I was very happy. Best part was when I got home and my dad babied me. He got me 4 ice packs and cleaned all my cut. Even gave me blue (my favorite color) band aids.
It turned out to be a great day.

Fast forward to today!

2nd story:
Today in April 2015. I asked my dad to go on a walk. Then changed my mind to go blading. After last time we fixed up my blades. At least that’s what we hoped for.

So anyways we went for a short 1.25 mile blading trip. The last leg of the trip was down hill. The bottom of the hill was my house. Well at the top my dad stated “It’s been a good trip. We’re going home with no crying, falling, or injuries.”

Can you guess what happens next?

If you guessed I fall then you are right.

Half way down the hill my wheel that sucks broke off. It broke off! Seriously how is that possible? Well however possible it happened.

When it first broke my dad happened to be passing but I didn’t want to hit him so I grabbed him for a second. He goes “Don’t grab me!” So I let go and tried gracefully fall to the ground. I was a gymnast for 4 years. You’d think that’d gone me grace right? Well not for me. Any other time I’m sure I’d be grateful.

I tried hard not to fall too hard. I settled with a banged up knee. That’s better than last time. 🙂 I think my dad jinxed us. 🙂

So the reason I get panicked as I fall is becomes I’m afraid I’ll slam my head on the ground. I’m too young to get a serious concussion. Or even a cracked skull. I’m also too young to need plastic surgery on my face. So honestly it’s probably not a big deal I freak when I fall.

I hope you enjoyed my two close to death experiences. 😉

Talk soon,
Marena

Leave a Reply

