Pregnancy Update Week 5

So honestly I feel like the first trimester everything is going to be the same besides the size of the baby. But I want to keep track mostly for myself so what does it matter if I repeat every week? Okay but there actually has been new things this weeks so it’s not exactly the same. 

Welcome to week 5 of my pregnancy. Friday July 29, 2016 to Thursday April 4, 2017. Baby is the size of an Appleseed, .13 inches. I am measuring as of 5 and 1/2 weeks that I’ll be due April 1st.  I’ve also nicknamed baby and the bump I’ll have biscuit or little biscuit. 

This week I have yet again been pretty tired most days. So nap time is a must. And honestly I don’t trust people who don’t take naps once in a while even when their not pregnant. I mean what are you super human? So yeah this week has consisted of one to two naps a day and usual asleep for the night by 9pm. However that does mean I’m usually awake at 5:30 am when my husband goes to work and I find myself falling back to sleep around 7 until and “acceptable” time (so in my eyes 9am unless I work then 8am). How did you mommas sleep when pregnant? Did you have a routine? Now obviously I know the bigger you get less sleep you’ll get but I’m really just talking the early pregnancy fatigue. 

I’ve been nauseous and have had a loss of appetite this week still. Just like last week is I really want something I’ll eat but mostly nothing sounds good. And with the nausea I haven’t really even wanted to try. Hot foods (besides biscuits and gravy my only craving) are pretty much a no no. There is honestly never any hot foods I really want. Not only do hot foods never really sound good but I feel like it just turns my stomach and makes me more sick (just the thought of it now makes me sick). I have enjoyed lots of fruit. Anything cold or dry works pretty well so I’ve eaten lots of clementines, chicken salad, and cereal. Oh and veggies don’t really excite me to eat right now either. Just not so bad as it makes me sick. At what point will end up with strange cravings? Does everyone get strange cravings or not all the time?

This week on Monday August 1st I went in to have my first prenatal checkup (so early because my last pregnancy was ectopic). I saw my doctor, had my blood drawn, and the most exciting part I had an ultrasound. My doctor said everything looked good. My ultrasound showed the sack but no yoke in my uterus. My doctor said the yoke shows up during week 5 but at different stages for all women and pregnancies. For some it shows as early as day 1 for some as late as day 6. The reason for this is 1. Each woman is different 2. Each pregnancy is different 3. If a woman ovulates later than when she thinks (I track my periods but never my ovulation so I can only go based on the “usual” estimation which is you ovulate a week after your period ends) and 4. You also don’t know a 100% when the sperm actually meets the egg (you just have a guess and/or estimation).

The reason I had my blood drawn was so my doctor could check that my hcg levels went up. Usually in a viable pregnancy they double (or more than double) in a 48 hour window. So I had my blood drawn Monday and again on Wednesday. My doctor called that afternoon saying everything looked great! But silly me I didn’t think to ask what the two numbers were exactly so I’ll need to ask at my next appointment.

My doctor went ahead and made me another ultrasound and prenatal appointment for next Thursday (last day of week 6). He wants to be able to say with complete certainty that he can see a yoke and that there really is a baby growing in there. He also hopes to hear a heartbeat. (Babies heartbeat can usually be heard during the 6th week but again sometimes it can be later more like 7 weeks). This is his way of just checking to make sure all is still going good. 

As of right now the doctor feels everything is looking good he called it “the hope of a baby” and that he has high hopes all is good and all will stay good. For a new momma especially one that lost her baby previously it gave me great encouragement and comfort to know he feels everything will be great! But as a momma of faith I know God has a plan so I’m just trying to stay positive and follow the path God has layed out for me, my family, and this growing baby. 


This week I’ve also had little cramping here and there. It’s more of an uncomfortable pain but nothing big. My doctor says this is the uterus growing along with muscles and ligaments growing and getting ready for a growing belly and baby. He said as long as I’m not doubled over in pain for 30 minutes straight and/or bleeding accompanied all is well. And for me I’ve had no bleeding and it really is just a slight uncomfortable pain that last for a few seconds or minutes here and there. However if I sneeze it hurts especially if I’m also laying on my side (again it’s normal for the same reason).
What did you mommas experience this week?

Talk soon,

Marena

One thought on “Pregnancy Update Week 5

Leave a Reply

